# **MEETING MINUTES**

#### Attendees

### **Committee Members Present**

Deborah Napper, Committee Chair, District 5 T. Dianne Bellamy Small, District 1 Deena Hayes, District 8

### **Staff Present**

Marshall Matson, Chief of Schools, Staff Liaison Lisa Nolen, Clerk

### I. Call to Order

Chairperson Napper called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m.

### II. Approval of October 28, 2020 Meeting Minutes

The minutes from the October 28, 2020 meeting were presented for approval.

Motion was made by Deena Hayes, seconded by Deborah Napper, to approve the October 28, 2020 meeting minutes.

Motion made by: Ms. Deena Hayes Motion seconded by: Ms. Deborah Napper Voting: Unanimously Approved

The motion passed upon unanimous roll call vote.

### III. Nomination to Name Northwest Guilford High School Gym Court

Chairperson Napper called Chief of Schools Marshall Matson to present the nomination to name the Northwest Guilford High School (NWGHS) gym court.

NWGHS PE teacher Michael Everett submitted a nomination to name NWGHS' Roger Nelson Gym court for former PE teacher Darlene Joyner. Throughout her 29-year tenure at NWGHS, Ms. Joyner served as varsity basketball assistant coach, junior varsity basketball coach, head varsity softball coach, head varsity volleyball coach, and head varsity basketball coach. Ms. Joyner is also a 1977 graduate of NWGHS. The estimated cost to name the gym court is \$1,500. NWGHS' booster club, Viking Vision, is expected to pay the cost.

Chairperson Hayes reported that she had spoken with District 3 Board Member Pat Tillman, who represents NWGHS, and Principal Ashley Young, both of whom had no objections to the nomination.

Motion was made by Deena Hayes, seconded by Deborah Napper, to approve sending the nomination to the full Board for its consideration.

Motion made by: Ms. Deena Hayes Motion seconded by: Ms. Deborah Napper Voting: Unanimously Approved

The motion passed upon unanimous roll call vote.

### IV. Other Business

None.

## V. Adjournment

There being no further business, at 12:08, motion was made by Deena Hayes, seconded by Deborah Napper, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed upon unanimous vote.